You are here

Back to top

The Flatshare: A Novel (Hardcover)

The Flatshare: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


What if your roommate is your soul mate? A joyful, quirky romantic comedy, Beth O'Leary's The Flatshare is a feel-good novel about finding love in the most unexpected of ways.

Tiffy and Leon share an apartment. Tiffy and Leon have never met.

After a bad breakup, Tiffy Moore needs a place to live. Fast. And cheap. But the apartments in her budget have her wondering if astonishingly colored mold on the walls counts as art.

Desperation makes her open minded, so she answers an ad for a flatshare. Leon, a night shift worker, will take the apartment during the day, and Tiffy can have it nights and weekends. Hell only ever be there when shes at the office. In fact, theyll never even have to meet.

Tiffy and Leon start writing each other notes first about what day is garbage day, and politely establishing what leftovers are up for grabs, and the evergreen question of whether the toilet seat should stay up or down. Even though they are opposites, they soon become friends. And then maybe more.

But falling in love with your roommate is probably a terrible ideaespecially if you've never met.

About the Author


Beth OLeary worked in children's publishing before becoming a full-time author. She is the author of the Sunday Times bestselling novel The Flatshare, which has been translated into more than thirty languages.

Praise For…


Add this to your summer reading list (and get out your checkbooks, Hollywood): Beth O'Learys debut novel The Flatshare is a 21st century rom-com that will please hopeless romantics...Everyone needs to devour immediately."
USA Today

OLearys tender, funny debut is a millennial romantic comedy with an old-fashioned twist:
Youll never look at a Post-it the same way again.
People

A delight from start to finishA warm, enchanting love story perfect for fans of classic rom-coms.
Kirkus, starred review

The Flatshare is a huge, heartwarming triumph.
Josie Silver, #1 NYT bestselling author of One Day in December

The new Jojo Moyes...This has all the ingredients of Me Before YouSeriously funny.
Cosmopolitan (UK)

"This charming debut features lovely characters being nice to one another. Its easy to root for them to get together and solve the problems in each of their lives. Be prepared to hand-sell this one. Its a sweet romance that will win over readers once they discover it on the shelves."
Library Journal, starred review

The Flatshare is the novel equivalent of a cup of hot tea. Itll warm you up and heal you if youre hurting.
Refinery29

The Flatshare is undeniably a romance between Tiffy and Leon; it will give you butterflies, and make you laugh. But its also a deep-dive into the realities of relationships gone wrong, and what it truly takes to dig oneself out of the depths An empowering look at resilience and healthy love.
Bustle

OLeary's debut is a sweet, quirky novel about two complete opposites falling for one another under the cutest of circumstances...Perfect for fans of Helen Hoang's The Kiss Quotient and Sally Thorne's The Hating Game.
Booklist

I finished The Flatshare in one sitting it is, as promised, incredibly uplifting and joyous. I spent the last few hours with a massive smile on my face. I have fallen head over heels in love with Tiffy and Leon, and indeed with this book.
Louise ONeill, #1 international bestselling author of Asking For It

Such fun...A thought-provoking work of fiction. But fun. Definitely fun.
Minneapolis Star-Tribune

We were genuinely tickled by this book; we loved the concept, the writing, the characters. This is such a great book to take on vacation and read in one go with your toes dug into the warm sand.
Christina Lauren, Publishers Weeklys 11 Essential Summer Romance Novels

This quirky romantic comedy has surprising depthColorful storylines, generous-hearted characters, and British banter make this a refreshing novel.
Christian Science Monitor

Clever debutOLearys story packs plenty of laughs and gasps; fans of Bridget Joness Diary will want to give this a look.
Publishers Weekly

Its breezy prose and fun plot will have you hooked from the first page.
RealSimple.com, 5 Best Summer Beach Reads

"The Flatshare starts out as a sweet, funny, beautifully written romance with great dialogue and characters you'd love to share a flat with...and then, once you're hooked, it deepens and becomes so much more. It's a cheering, lovely look at friendship and love and learning to trust after heartbreak. I never wanted it to end." Maddie Dawson, bestselling author of Matchmaking for Beginners and The Survivor's Guide to Family Happiness

The Flatshare has a lot of laughable moments, but theres a great deal of depth, too. Its also refreshing. The Flatshare proves [romance is] possible; you just have to get creative. OLearys book is a fun read and a hugely promising debut.
Coastal Living

Feel-good fiction at its best.
Independent (UK)

"Tiffy and Leon will stay in your head long after you turn the final page. This is a gorgeously written, highly original love story that will resonate with anyone who has ever experienced the questionable joys of shared living. I absolutely loved it." Phoebe Morgan, #1 bestselling author of The Doll House

In the league of Bridget Jones and Marian Keyes Walsh sister books Fresh, funny and feel-good.
Claire Allan, bestselling author of The First Time I Said Goodbye


Product Details
ISBN: 9781250295637
ISBN-10: 1250295637
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: May 28th, 2019
Pages: 336